Fiona Everest: Daily Musings from Ireland

~To Enjoy Life to it's Fullest~

At Home in Mitford: The First Novel in the Beloved Mitford Series

This is one of the greatest books I have ever read in my fourteen of life (even better than Lord of the Rings  which is my second favorite book)  It is heart warming, funny, cozy, tear jerker, ohhhhh it is so  good. 

Here is what the back of the book says:

It’s easy to feel at home in Mitford.  In these high, green hills, the air is pure, the village is charming, and the people are generally lovable.

Yet, Father Tim, the bachelor rector, wants something more.  Enter a dog the size of a sofa who movies in and won’t go away.  Add an attractive neighbor who begins wearing a path through the hedge.  Now, stir in a lovable but unloved boy, a mystifying jewel theft, and a secret that’s sixty years old.

Suddenly, Father Tim gets more than he bargained for.  And readers get a rich provincial comedy in which mysteries and miracles abound.

It is pretty much true, it is really good. 🙂  Here is a funny part, first you need to know, he is in love with his neighbor Cynthia, and they are out together;  He thought that if he dared kiss her, he would devour her.  He would kiss her lovely cheek and the tip of her nose, her forehead and her hair, he would not be responsible, he would come undone. It seemed dangerous merely to breathe.  

It just made me laugh out loud and I had to read it to my sister. 🙂  She also laughed out loud.  It is the first novel in the series, it is the only one I can read right now. 😉 My Mom says I have to wait on the other ones *thunks head on desk in despair* I don’t know what I am going to do…JK. 🙂 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “At Home in Mitford: The First Novel in the Beloved Mitford Series

  1. QueenAravis on said:

    hahahaha! I’ll have to read that one! 🙂

  2. Sounds funny and lovable. Remindes me of how I have to wait to read Black as Night *groan*
    Love,
    Vellvin.

Leave a Reply

